Member Involvement

The mission of AIA Arkansas is to develop, promote and sustain the practice and practitioners of Arkansas through a focus on advocacy, inclusion and education.  In support of this, we offer our members the opportunity to participate on many different committees, in legislative and education events, state convention and local networking activities.

Member committees include Legislative, Diversity, State Convention, Emerging Professionals (within 10 years of graduation), Public Relations or Regional Section Leadership.

See below for a brief description of our committees and members serving on them now.

Interested in getting involved? Please drop an email to to request more information and to be put in touch with our member committee chair.


Section Support
Emerging Professionals/Young Architects
Sustainability (New in 2021)
Fellowship (New in 2021)

Audit / Legal
Financial Planning

Legislative / PAC
State Board Liaison

Public Relations
Outreach (New in 2021)
Foundation Board

Disaster Assistance Committee
Help teach members and firms how to prepare themselves for disasters as well as support and provide resources for the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) and its INSPARK program.

Jim Gallagher, AIA (Co-Chair)
Walter Jennings, AIA (Co-Chair)

PR Committee
Promote awareness and value of Architects and the AIA being involved in the built environment; and to recruit and maintain members, benefits and services of AIA Arkansas and communicate these efforts to its members. Enhance communications for our members and the public that are aligned with the AIA Arkansas mission and vision.

Emerging Professionals/Young Architects Committee
To represent leadership to Associate members; assist with IDP coordination and collaborate with the Fay Jones School of Architecture students in a spirit of advancing the profession. To be the conduit for involvement and leadership in concert with but beyond the bounds of the University or traditional architecture firm structure while accelerating Emerging Professionals/Young Architects and their skills.

Legislative Committee
Monitor proposed Arkansas and National legislation, engage legislators and membership where action is required and keep our AIA Arkansas membership informed of the legislative process. AIA Arkansas shall establish its opinions first around current AIA National Public Policies and Position Statements then align with the mission and vision of AIA Arkansas and its membership.

 PAC Committee
Intended to work in tandem with the legislative committee with a specific goal of supporting selected candidates who are willing and able to influence policy in an informed way on the issues of interest to the architectural profession.

Diversity Committee
To encourage retention and leadership and celebrate the contributions among minorities and women in our general membership of AIA Arkansas.

Section Leadership
Central Section Chair: Bradley Burkart, Assoc. AIA
East Section Chair: Katie Singleton, AIA
Fort Smith Section Chair: Tim Varner, AIA
Northwest Section Chair: Kiara Gilmore, AIA