ARCHITECTURE & DESIGN NETWORK presents

Starchitects, Prizes and the Changing Face of Architecture



Martha Thorne served as an Associate Curator of the Department of Architecture at the Art Institute of Chicago from 1996 to 2005, the vear she left to assume the directorship of the Pritzker Architecure Prize, headquartered in Madrid, Spain. Established in 1979 by Jav and Cindy Pritzker and underwritten by the Hyatt Foundation, the award was conceived as a meaningful prize that would stimulate public awareness and inspire greater creativity within the profession of architecture. Recipients of the annual award, often called the "Nobel of architecture", are selected by an international jury committed to the art of architecture and its social responsibility. Each year's winner receives a \$100,000 grant and a bronze medallion.

Lord Peter Palumbo of England, a developer and art collector, is the current jury chair. Toyo Ito of Japan, selected (by a jury of seven which included Thorne) as the 2013 Pritzker laureate, was presented his award by Tom Pritzker, Jay Pritzker's son.

Supporters of the Architecture and Design Network include the Central Arkansas Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, UA Fay Jones School of Architecture and the Arkansas Arts Center. ADN lectures are free and open to the public. For additional information, contact ardenetwork@icloud.com

a lecture by Martha Thorne

Executive Director the Pritzker Architecture Prize, Madrid, Spain

Associate Dean for External Affairs IE School of Architecture & Design, Madrid, Spain

DATE: Tuesday, January 28, 2014PLACE: Arkansas Arts Center lecture hallTIME: 6:00 p.m., Preceded by a reception at 5:30 p.m.

PRITZKER ARCHITECTURE PRIZE RECIPIENTS

| YEAR | RECIPIENT(S) | NATION |
|------|-----------------------------------|-----------------------|
| 1979 | Philip Johnson | United States |
| 1980 | Louis Barragan | Mexico |
| 1981 | James Stirling | Great Britain |
| 1982 | Kevin Roche | United States |
| 1983 | I. M. Pei | United States |
| 1984 | Richard Meier | United States |
| 1985 | Hans Hollein | Austria |
| 1986 | Gottfried Boehm | Germany |
| 1987 | Kenzo Tange | Japan |
| 1988 | Gordon Bunshaft | · |
| | and Oscar Niemeyer Soares | United States; Brazil |
| 1989 | Frank Gehry | United States |
| 1990 | Aldo Rossi | Italy |
| 1991 | Robert Venturi | United States |
| 1992 | Alvaro Siza | Portugal |
| 1993 | Fumihiko Maki | Japan |
| 1994 | Christian de Portzamparc | France |
| 1995 | Tadao Ando | Japan |
| 1996 | Rafael Moneo | Spain |
| 1997 | Sverre Fehn | Norway |
| 1998 | Renzo Piano | Italy |
| 1999 | Norman Foster | Great Britain |
| 2000 | Rem Koolhaas | Netherlands |
| 2001 | Jacques Herzog | |
| | and Pierre de Meuron | Switzerland |
| 2002 | Glenn Murcutt | Australia |
| 2003 | Jørn Utzon | Denmark |
| 2004 | Zaha Hadid | Great Britain |
| 2005 | Thom Mayne | United States |
| 2006 | Paulo Mendes da Rocha | Brazil |
| 2007 | Richard Rogers | Great Britain |
| 2008 | Jean Nouvel | France |
| 2009 | Peter Zumthor | Switzerland |
| 2010 | Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, | |
| | partners in the firm Sanaa | Japan |
| 2011 | Eduardo Souto de Moura | Portugal |
| 2012 | Wang Shu | China |
| 2013 | Toyo Ito | Japan |
| | | |